Jump to content


Photo

[Updated] Server Not Found / Website Not Working For Some Users


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 alex28

alex28

    Keeper of the Light

  • Administrators
  • 511 posts
  • Locationwww

Posted 17 June 2010 - 10:10 PM

Some of our users can't access Addic7ed.com, but can access the forum (this one) hosted on the same server.

Judging by this, it's most likely a DNS problem. After checking the domain and settings i found nothing... so i assume:

  • Your ISP has to update the DNS records.
  • Your ISP filtered Addic7ed
  • Your ISP has some technical problems and somehow Addic7ed.com ain't working
  • Bunnies took over the world

Since users from more than 1 country reported this.. i don't really think it's an ISP problem.
In case you can't access it, it would be a GOOD idea to ask your ISP about it.

Meanwhile, there's a small fix you can do.
Change your DNS the ISP gives you.. use Google DNS.

Here's a tutorial on how to use Google DNS on your computer (Windows,Linux,OS X): Google DNS Tutorial


Using this should not affect your browsing on other websites or download speeds... in some cases it might even speed it up.

So, spread the word and talk to your ISP in case you cannot access Addic7ed.com

Feel free to reply to this topic.



UPDATE


Copy Pasta from Facebook:

I talked to my ISP and after 30 min they realized that their DNS records werent updated, so all the sudden they didn't have www.addic7ed.com in their records. They recommended me to use Goodle DNS :) And now it works perfectly!
(Jimmie Leimola)

So.. might not be a filter after all.

Edited by alex28, 18 June 2010 - 09:31 AM.
bunnies took over the world.

Changing the world. One subtitle at a time.

#2 Rm4g3dD0v

Rm4g3dD0v

    Junior Member

  • via Facebook
  • PipPip
  • 24 posts
  • LocationAthens

Posted 18 June 2010 - 02:00 PM

Hello there. I live in Greece and lots of addic7ed users are Greek, so I want to mention that most Greek ISPs use Cached-DNS. I suppose this problem is caused by Cached-DNS too.

Forthnet, HellasOnLine, OnTelecoms, Vodafone and OTE-Connex is confirmed that they do use Cached-DNS.


By the way, it is good that the first thought was that the URL was filtered massively by ISPs! Movie industry bastards will do just about anything to get things their way...

Edited by Rm4g3dD0v, 18 June 2010 - 02:08 PM.


#3 alex28

alex28

    Keeper of the Light

  • Administrators
  • 511 posts
  • Locationwww

Posted 18 June 2010 - 11:43 PM

OH well... always think at the worst.

So i assume you can't visit addic7ed.
Did Google DNS help? I'm sorry to hear about the Greek community not being able to visit Addic7ed (i like Greece actually :P)

I thought at a temporary solution.. might put it live soon.
Anyhow, thanks for your feedback.
Changing the world. One subtitle at a time.

#4 JustStranger

JustStranger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 19 June 2010 - 06:02 PM

Hello. I live in Russia, so the most of our ISPs (mine, in particular) are using Cached DNS too. And there isn't the first time with access problems caused by this. I was really upset with addic7ed.com problem. And your temporary decision with Google DNS is not working for us as the users are not allowed to use other DNS addresses except for fixed ones or pointed by DHCP. But today there was a strange thing. During all the day I was able to access addic7ed.com just for 10 minutes or so, it happened for 3-5 times. But the rest of the time I couldn't access it. Was it caused by your actions? I remember you told about another temporary solution, so, it worked?
Anyway, I'm looking forward to resumption of addic7ed.com)

#5 redkoros

redkoros

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • LocationItaly

Posted 20 June 2010 - 08:33 AM

Hi! I don't know if this is of any help for other users, but since I got the "server not found" message while trying to access Addic7ed, and not having idea of whota google dns is, I tried to access the site with anonymose and worked. Easy peasy. So for anyone trying to visit Addict7ed, maybe this is the easiest way.

#6 alex28

alex28

    Keeper of the Light

  • Administrators
  • 511 posts
  • Locationwww

Posted 20 June 2010 - 09:36 AM

@Juststranger: Sorry to hear that.. you should be able to bypass the DHCP tho :) Check the tutorial i posted. No, i did nothing yet since i have an exam in a few hours and i got pretty busy. Will start doing something tonight.

@redkoros: DNS translates names (domain names) to IP addresses. Sometimes all this Name -> IP is cached by your internet provider and updated from time to time.
Google DNS allows you to use the DNS service from Google and not from your ISP. So basically, you get internet from your provider.. but you resolve websites from Google. Many times Google proved better than most of the ISPs, improving the browsing speed.
Visit this link if you want to learn how to use it: http://code.google.c...docs/using.html

(pretty easy to setup actually, no need to install anything)
Changing the world. One subtitle at a time.

#7 JustStranger

JustStranger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 20 June 2010 - 11:50 AM

To alex28: Unfortunately, it seemes I can't bypass it since the connection isn't working with Google DNS IP addresses set. Though for other users who can set Google DNS it should work because it surely can resolve addic7ed.com. Take your time with exams and good luck. By the way, that random 10-minute-connections to addic7ed continue to happen, such a strange thing. Lucky me, I was managed to download all the necessary subtitles today.

#8 DrJackson

DrJackson

    Senior Member

  • Administrators
  • 1,360 posts
  • LocationRomania.

Posted 21 June 2010 - 09:45 AM

Quite by chance, those who have connection problems, are they using connection through a proxy?

103iruh.gif


The greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do!


IMPORTANT LINK: FORUM RULES


#9 JustStranger

JustStranger

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 21 June 2010 - 10:51 AM

No, not all of them. For some users it works to stop using proxy, but some of us don't use it but still have connection problems.

#10 DrJackson

DrJackson

    Senior Member

  • Administrators
  • 1,360 posts
  • LocationRomania.

Posted 21 June 2010 - 11:59 AM

Quite by chance, those who have connection problems, are they using connection through a proxy?



No, not all of them. For some users it works to stop using proxy, but some of us don't use it but still have connection problems.


That's strange and odd too.
I checked my connection settings, to me everything is on "automatic" and I have no problem accesing addic7ed.com
I'm asking you next all of curiosity (in fact, to better understand the problem, I hope you understand), to a time, acces to addic7ed.com was normally, then the problems started, right? Has not made changes to your firewall settings, did not update your browser or something like that.

103iruh.gif


The greatest pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do!


IMPORTANT LINK: FORUM RULES





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users