Working with KODI

Airwreck

NOt sure where I should put this post so guess here is as good as any

Is there a way to somehow add this site to KODI searches for subtitles..

Thanks

Hi, why don't you ask on KODI's website ?

I don't really know how it works but surely you should ask them first.

Edited by retrojex
  • Like 1

Alrighty.. By your answer it means that no one has written what is called an Addon.. that is how it would work..

I am still learning this stuff.. and am in no way close to really understanding XML (oops.. seems its using Python grrr I definitely know nothing about that )  but addon's are written using that language,,

I guess I need to figure that out.. GRIN..

Edited by Airwreck

Oh actually I didn't know this site, so apparently it's referencing a lot of addons. It seems to work like RSS feed, or should I say XML feed. 

I guess Python is just used to 'read' and sort XML infos created instantly and simultaneously when a subtitle is uploaded, or when a translation is finished. (I think that's what the addon does, right?).

Basically, you could have done the same thing on your website using RSS/XML feed and PHP to sort your infos out. But, you can't use PHP in an addon, that's why they're using Python.

Obviously, I think, except if you find a nice person, no one will develop this addon for Kodi TV. But be creative, and just try to understand what XML feed means, and how to sort it out using Python. That's not really hard, it's all about picking up the XML tag you want, read it, and display it. That's it :D

Kind of what I was thinking when I was doing the dishes tonight.. :-)

I will need to see what one of the current services for Subtitles is doing and then figure out how to plug in this site..

Its just that as I have been using more and more subtexts.. I have noticed that the ones coming from you folks are really well synced. and some of the others I have to push the offset way out to get it close and its really aggravating.